Burningman 2012 Finally Back Home!

Finally the time had come where I was back at burning man. Driving that dark desert road back to Black Rock City.  It seems like your on a different planet. You’re at the end but what is actually the  beginning of your journey to burningman. Its one of my favorite places in the world. I had missed the last 2 years because I had been traveling around over seas. Whenever that time of the year would come, I would get a great sense of nostalgia. Remembering all the past years. My first year was 2007 and from then I was hooked. Every year so different and so amazing in their own way. Although I was traveling and having great experiences I still had that wish that I could just teleport some how for a week to Black Rock City and just lose my mind for a week on the playa. My friends abroad would always ask “whats burning man like”? That’s a question is always hard to answer. Words really can’t describe you just have to experience it!

Two years later I had arrived.  I had driven up with my good friend Keith AKA K Bueno. As soon as I arrived, i had felt like I was just their yesterday. That gap had disappeared and I know it sounds kind of cheezy, but I really felt like I was home. Aside from all the amazingness, burning man always seizes to test the depths of a person I feel. Yes you have a blast, but you also have to deal with the not so fun parts of it. Like setting up a tent in the middle of the night when your super exhausted from a long drive and have a stomach ache from eating too much jerky. There is crazy sandstorms that could last for hours, where pretty much everything gets covered in a layer of sand. If you have a tent and not a trailer or RV pretty much everything is covered. Burning man is not for the high maintenance. But that’s the whole experience of it all getting dusty. Everybody looks amazing all dusty and dressed up with rad clothes riding around on art, music with wheels. It looks like a post apostolic seen with incredible art, music. Every and anything you could possibly imagine from a stand out in the desert giving aways free pancakes and hugs to the thunder dome where people are beating the shit out of each other with foam clubs. Theres every kind of person from all walks of the earth, from grandma with her tits out in a tutu, to the steam punks, to gear heads, the little kid with a devil mask, the beautiful goddess dancer, gutter punks, cyber geek, every kind of person imagianble. It’s where creativity exudes from  people’s pours from head to toe.

It a place where at least 50,000 people come together and make their own community for a week and create. Weather its art, music, relationships, connections a new self.To create a different world from the norm or to create something new and take back. A  piece of mind.  You don’t only live here  you also survive here.  Burning man has its extremes. Whether it s the weather, sand storms, lightning storm, the desert heat, physical and mental challenges or whatever. You still always come back with a new sence of self. I always feel rebirthed.

Another thing is that once you get there you don’t pay for anything except  ice, to keep your food cold and if you want to buy coffee. Everyone is so giving, people just want to give. Its like if your happy im happy :). Great example me and my friend Jesse go get ice for our camp.  Our camp is not small we have at least 50 people in our camp.  We take the fish head off our art car and drive it down the bumpy dusty road to the ice store. We get there and there’s a huge line, and we wondered why no one wanted to get ice. But you know someones got to do it. So we waited in this long ass line. We were like shit! We didn’t bring anything to drink and then the people in front of us said you want a beer, uhh yes please, ice-cold! More standing this lady just comes along and sprays everyone with perfume cuz everyone’s all stinky and sweaty. More standing another dude comes by and starts misting everyone with this cold lavender sage water. Totally out of no where. It just keeps coming, otter pop dude comes with popsicle and starts handing them out to people in line. We finally get to the front and we need to buy about 20 bags of ice and it’s just us girlies and then these guys offer to help us carry it to our car. People are all about it, the love is everywhere.

My time at burning man was refreshing and cleansing. I meet a lot of new faces and was soooooo happy to see the old ones. I was camped with a new camp this year called Kamp Krusty. We were camped on the outside of the city with the desert mountains as our back yard I only knew a good handful of peeps. We had a krusty fish of an art  car that could fit the whole camp and a bit more. It was nice to have, to bring everyone together and get to know each other more. Fun times crusin the desert in that thing.  Lucky me I saw every sunset and every sunrise, partied every night and hung out in the day. I was like the energizer bunny. Sometimes I don’t know how I do it, I cease to amaze myself sometimes.  But there is a special energy that burning man gives, I literally had electricity running thew my body. I was shocking people and myself I even saw real sparks. Cant really explain it. This year I didn’t really get to see all the people who I wanted to see or hang out with them as much as I wanted. I was one side of the city and some of my friends were completely on the other side to get from one side of the city to get to the other it would literally take anywhere from 25 to 30 min depending on the weather, roads and how many people where out. It’s that big! But besides not being able to spend as much time as I wanted with some friends, the friends and people who I was hanging out with was fantastical. I didn’t have one bummer at burning man once. Except eating shit on the playa on my bike and getting a huge raspberry burn on my leg that kinda got infected and nasty at the end of the burn. I’m probably going to have a scar for life, but that’s ok, I consider it a burning man battle wound. A memory for life of that day and how much fun I had. My sister asked me what where your top 5 memories at burning man. I couldn’t answer that question either. The whole time was so amazing and awesome. Nothing was better than the other. From just sitting around at my camp with my friends doing nothing and just hanging around was a blast cracking jokes and being silly, to all the crazy lil bike adventures and stopping at random places. To hopping on crazy art cars and going to where ever it takes us. To dancing my face off every single night and day in the desert and just losing my self and finding myself all at the same time. To raging it in the desert with my camp on our huge Krusty Fish. I can’t pin point one thing.

Every great thing must come to and end sooner or later and that time was coming,  sad but true! After a spectacular week it was time for everyone to pack up. With burning man everything that you bring you have to take back with you leaving the desert with out a trace. At the end everyone is pretty exhausted and trying to keep their wits. Tensions tend to rise from time to time from lack of sleep and the heat. Everyone gets through it. You say your good byes some people you will see again and some you might not. But you leave with new friends, connections, inspiration, memories and all your shit. GOOD  TIMES! here’s a photo of the truck that brought all of the camps stuff and art car. I drove back to LA in this Beast it was a journey!

 

 

                                                               

 

 

 

                                                                           

                                                                             

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

