Well I made it to Egypt!

So I’m finally making my first post, well after what was suppose to be a 12 hour flight with a 4 hour layover i finally made it to Cairo Egypt last Thursday, and got a warm welcome from a young Egyptian dude named Peter but its actually Beetarrrr. He is my couchsurfing host during my stay in Cairo, so we hopped in his dusty car and took off for the city. I was amazed to see how crowded it was with cars driving on the streets, there are such thing as lanes here in Egypt, but nobody really uses them.There could be up to 5 cars in a 3 lane road and there is a constant sound of honking, which for some reason I like. There is no such thing as road rage here its just the norm. For something that would only take maybe 10 min usually would take forever, so you can see why people are consentlly honking. Peter told me that in Egyptian time, 5 min is actually 1 hour. So 5 min later we made it to a cafe and had a beer and some food and waited for his flatmate Hassan then went back to there place because i was exhausted and we were gonna make a day trip to Alexandria the next morning.

Beautiful Alexandria

Alexandria is the city where people that live in Cairo come to get away for a weekend or summer holiday/vacation to get away from the heat. On the main street you can that there are many cafes and restaurant facing the sea front. This is the  Citadel of Qaitbay

After a long day we decided to go eat some sea food,  Alexandria is know for there fresh sea food, but i will talk about that in my Egypt Food blog.

Nightmare on Toilet Street

What to do after a great meal well, well go smoke shisha. Ok well what I’m about to tell you is one of the scariest things that have ever happened to me. We get to the cafe, get a table and order some shisha. I excuse myself from the table because i need to use the ladies room so I go to the bathroom and both of the stalls were closed,  you cant see who’s in there because the door is from the ceiling to the floor,  so i knock on the first door there was someone in there,  I knock on the the second door I don’t hear anything,  I wait a second knock again don’t hear anything, so i open the door and out comes this shooting water from the toilet, first shot I get hit in the right boob, as I’m turning around to get out of there, I get another shot in the rib. While all of this is happening of coarse I’m screaming and trying to scramble to get the hell out of  there  and then the lady hurries out of the bathroom to see what is going on and sees stupid American girl getting squirted by toilet water, uhhhh gross,  she’s probably laughing hysterically  inside her head, but that’s ok I would be laughing as well if I was her. Then last but not least I get hit in the top back shoulder and then slam the door. This all happened in a matter of seconds but it felt like eternity. I was soooooooo embarrassed. Of coarse something like that would happen to me.  I go and tell one of the workers that the toilet is leeking, so i go in the bathroom with him and tell him to be careful because its squirting,  he opens the door and its shooting out and he immediately closes the door,  he then just shuts the water off  and then it stops. I go back to the table to join my new friends and tell them what happened to me and of coarse they start busting up with laughter, Im like yeah yeah whatever.  Shatafa is what the Egyptians call it and a baday in Europe. I guess there was a malfunction with that toilet because it was not supposed to be shooting out like that, it would be like a fire hose shooting up your ass. So of coarse I had you to use the ladies room again so I brought my camera to take a picture of the thing. When i got there to take a photo of it, I was trembling with sheer terror, so that’s why the picture is a little blurry. That toilet is going to haunt me in my dreams, I  am forever traumatized.

17 thoughts on “Well I made it to Egypt!

  1. Uncle Ruben says:

    When you absolutely need a thorough wash, accept no substitutes….
    I need one of these !!!!!!!!

    Take care girlllll Stay away from the spicey food!!!!

  2. edgar says:

    HEY I HOPE YOU R HAVING A GOOD TIME BEE SAFE AND TAKE ALOT OF PIX. HOPE TO SEE U SOON. GERR

  3. Rick Fabrizio says:

    Hola Cindy, looks like your having a great time. Take care ,god bless

  4. phil says:

    Hilarious! That sucks! But really if you think about it it was clean water shooting out. I actually really like those things. They have em in the toilets in Turkey too. Leaves you feeling fresh and clean. Tis more sanitary.

    Two things, three actually.. What are those blocks falling into the sea? is that where the sidewalk ends? Then, how old is that citadel. ROughly anyway. And third, I echo Cats sentiments, glad you’re safe and with good hosts.. I hope(?)

  5. Uncle Mike says:

    I LOL at the biday issue> Nice pictures.
    have fun

    • mke fabrizio says:

      uncle Peter is under the camel…uncle Ruben told me.
      ya know what…in retrspect when you got splashed by the
      pee-pee chair, at least you where refreshed after a long day!

  6. Lydia Rivera says:

    hahaha…i am seriously laughing out loud! I can just see you now 🙂 great story….

  7. Cat says:

    hey bijou!!! it’s gina. i am using cats computer. my freakin email got cancled cause i guess it was four months inactive. sorry dude. well its my brifday and its a new year for me. i feel pretty good about it.
    i am super impressd with your blog!! 🙂 I am sooo lucky to have such an inspirational sister like u. I love u with all my heart. Miss u much.

    G:.

  8. vanessa ricketson says:

    I laughed sooo hard that I’m crying!!! At least you don’t need to poo in the middle of the desert at 116 degrees and the bottom of the stall is higher than you need to SQUAT over the sunken “sink” in the ground!!! DO NOT ATTEMPT to poo en-route to Abu Symbul!!!

    OMG – have a blast Lady ; )

    emails I am forwarding to – I hope it’s ok ; )
    terri_hendrix@hotmail .com – Terri
    tribalprincess13@yahoo.com Devin
    marli19@hotmail.com – Marli
    sbellydncer@yahoo.com – Sarah

    I will also forward to Denise – I don’t know her e-mail off the top of my head!

    Be wise, and have a blast!

    xoxox

    V

  9. Uncle Ruben says:

    Hey Cindy,

    Que guntes con un negrito que esta en Camel.

    You trill seeker….U

    RG

  10. iDiOT QiD says:

    Looks like your havin a “Blast” eht…The fact that a toilet,…pissed on YOU!… makes me all fuzzy inside, and will sustain me for the months to come until your return when i can laugh at your big head in person…Let The Good Times FLOW…and ay, if you see this guy, punch’em and take his wallet he owes me $200.p.s. Never trust anybody who smokes pills… [IMG]http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz222/benbarrick/0207001726.jpg[/IMG]

  11. Mommy says:

    So glad you made it fine and it looks like the same bad luck you have in the US followed you across the Atlantic. But that makes it hilarious for us. I couldn’t be prouder of my daughters, each taking their own adventures in their own way. Leave everyone you meet with a smile and a wish to see you again… Beautifull photos, love you.

  12. Cat says:

    Yo!!!!! So glad you are alive! I was worried sick! I even googled to try and find your blog. So glad you started it. That story is out of control! I can’t believe that happened to you. Did you change your clothes? Stoked your couchsurfing guys were cool. I started a couchsurfing account and hope to start hosting in Madison. Karl and I leave on Sunday. I am freaking out about the change, but am sure I will adjust. So happy you are having a blast. I love you, I love you, I love you. Take more photos and keep blogging.

    • cindy aldana says:

      it sucked i couldnt change my clothes, iv’e been in cairo for a lil over a week, im leaving and taking a train for luxor on sat night, then go to dahab which is a beautiful beach town and relax for a bout a week snorkel and maybe dive, i cant wait! im soo excited for you, your gonna have so much fun, love you too. xoxo

  13. Hahaha Cindy girrrrl that is probably 1 of the funniest stories I’ve heard in awhile, thanks for laugh. Glad to hear you made it safely. Enjoy your travels lady and can’t wait for more post. Stay fancy out there

  14. Joe Aldana (Brother) says:

    Hey Sis,

    So glad to hear from you, it looks like your settling in just fine so I will stop worring now. Your amazing, keep the posts coming they’re super funny. Love ya

  15. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

